In the run-up to State Assembly elections, the BJP High Command created a BJP state manifesto committee in its efforts to retain Daggubati Purandeswari within the party, amid reports of her plans to shift to YSR Congress party.

The Manifesto Committee will have Purandeswari as the Chairperson while former Chief Secretary IYR Krishna Rao has been selected the Convener. Other members of the committee are P Vijaya Babu, MLC P N V Madhav, Dasari Srinivasulu, Shaik Mastan, Paka Satyanarayana, K Kapileswaraiah, P.Sanyasi Raju Murali, Sudhish Rambhotla and Prof. D A R Subrahmanyam.

The press release announced by BJP state president Kanna Lakshminarayana intimated that the committee will be preparing the manifesto of the party for the forthcoming elections. The appointment comes at a time when the YSRCP had tried to give a ticket from Parchur to Purandeswari’s son Hitesh Chenchuram while Purandeswari and her husband Daggubati Venkateswara Rao also prepared to jump ship as YSRCP had agreed to offer her Vijayawada Lok Sabha ticket. 

BJP’s efforts to stop its top leaders’ departure are obvious. First, when Kanna Lakshminarayana was preparing to join the YSRCP, the party leadership gave him the State unit President’s post. Lately, BJP’s Rajahmundry MLA Akula Satyanarayana left the party to join Jana Sena while another MLA Ramakotaiah is also preparing to join the TDP. First, of polls, there will be many more who will each quit the party or join it.

Related Articles