Naveen Patnaik swears in as Odisha CM for the fifth time

After been re-voted to power with a decisive majority in Odisha Assembly elections, Naveen Patnaik took oath as the chief minister of the coastal state and recorded his fifth time in the top office that makes him the longest serving Chief Minister of the state.

Naveen Patnaik and his team of ministers were administered the oath of the office in Bhubaneswar at a function by Governor Ganeshi Lal. This happens to be the first time that the oath taking was held in full public view outside the Raj Bhavan unlike the low-key swearing in ceremonies that were held when Naveen Patnaik took oath in the past.

Nine state ministers and eleven cabinet ministers were appointed on the recommendation of Naveen Patnaik on the eve of the swearing-in ceremony and the new team of ministers is going to have 10 new faces. Naveen Patnaik offered prayers at Sri Puri Jagannath temple before taking the oath as the Chief Minister.

Though Naveen Patnaik had invited Prime Minister Narendra Modi for today’s oath-taking ceremony, the Prime Minister did not attend the function but congratulated Mr Patnaik on his official Twitter handle after he took oath.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *