Team India which won the Melbourne test is high on confidence and is aiming to win their first ever Test series in Australia by winning the fourth and final test at Sydney which begins from tomorrow. 

The team has decided to make some key changes in the team. Though Ravichandran Ashwin is yet to recover from the side strain, he was included in the 13-man squad and interestingly Ishant Sharma has been dropped from the squad. 

Ishant Sharma, who picked 11 wickets in the three Tests of the series so far at an average of 23.81, has been left out of the Test due to a left rib cage discomfort and is currently being assessed. Another speedster Umesh Yadav is likely to replace Ishant Sharma. 

Umesh had an underwhelming game, taking just two wickets for 139 runs in the Perth test.

Despite a miserable outing, KL Rahul gets another chance as Rohit Sharma will be missing the Test as he has flown back to Mumbai to be with his newborn daughter. KL Rahul has had a miserable series so far, having made just 49 runs in 4 innings before he was dropped for the previous Test in Melbourne. 

Middle-order batsman Hanuma Vihari was promoted to the opening position and it remains to be seen if he will continue to open at Sydney or KL Rahul will take the opening slot. 

India’s Squad for SCG: Virat Kohli (C), A Rahane (VC), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, C Pujara, H Vihari, R Pant, R Jadeja, K Yadav, R Ashwin, M Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav s

Related Articles