ICC bans Sanath Jayasuriya for 2 years from all forms of cricket

Former Sri Lankan cricket captain Sanath Jayasuriya, who was also one of the most fearsome batsmen of his generation, has been banned from all forms of cricket for a period of 2 years after admitting to breaching two counts of the ICC Anti-Corruption Code.

In a statement released by International Cricket Council (ICC), Jayasuriya admitted to have breached the code of conduct on two occasions:

  1. Article 2.4.6 – Failure or refusal, without compelling justification, to cooperate with any investigation carried out by the ACU, including failure to provide accurately and completely any information and/or documentation requested by the ACU as part of such investigation.
  2. Article 2.4.7 – Obstructing or delaying any investigation that may be carried out by the ACU, including concealing, tampering with or destroying any documentation or other information that may be relevant to that investigation and/or that may be evidence or may lead to the discovery of evidence of corrupt conduct under the Anti-Corruption Code.

Sharing more details about the incident, ICC’s General Manager Alex Marshall said, “This conviction under the Code demonstrates the importance of participants in cricket cooperating with investigations. Compelling participants to cooperate under the Code is a vital weapon in our efforts to rid our sport of corruptors. These rules are essential to maintaining the integrity of our sport.”

The move comes in wake of ICC ACU’s investigation into corruption in Sri Lankan cricket. The ACU also recently held an amnesty related to Sri Lankan cricket where 11 players and others came up with new information.

Sanath Jayasuriya, who represented Sri Lanka in 110 Tests, 445 one-day internationals and 31 Twenty20s, was the main force behind Sri Lanka’s world cup triumph in 1996. He along with Romesh Kaluwitharana changed the way batsmen scored runs during fielding restrictions.

After retiring from cricket, Jayasuriya was also a part of politics, where he served on the Sri Lanka parliament from 2010 to 2015. He was also the chairman of selectors for Sri Lankan cricket before stepping down from the role in 2017 after Lanka’s 0-3 defeat against India in Tests.

Related Articles