BCCI announces India’s World Cup 2019 squad

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the much-awaited World Cup squad. Chairman of the five-member selection committee, MSK Prasad, announced the squad in a press conference held at the Mumbai headquarters of the Board of Control for Cricket in India and the unlucky people to miss out on the flight to the United Kingdom are Ambati Rayudu and Rishabh Pant.

The squad more or less picked itself as a lot of members were already finalized with a doubt remaining only regarding two spots – number 4 and second wicketkeeper. There was another narrative that suggested either Vijay Shankar or the second wicketkeeper and the backup opener could double up as number 4 which would allow an extra spinner or an extra pacer to be selected.

Vijay Shankar, Hardik Pandya, and Ravindra Jadeja are the two all-rounders in the team. The former seems to be another option to take up the role of batting at number four for the team while, for the first time, the bowling attack look sorted for the Men in Blue. The pace trio of Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Jasprit Bumrah have the capability of toppling any opposition on their day.

Though the World Cup will start on May 30, India will start their campaign on June 5 against South Africa in Southampton.

Here India’s World Cup squad:

Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Vijay Shankar, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *